Our Friends

Korn: The Serenity of Suffering

The Serenity of Suffering
October 21, 2016
The Serenity of Suffering,  produced by the legendary Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Deftones, Mastodon), shows that Korn will keep evolving their sound and create music that retains the band’s well earned legacy. The album also features a special guest appearance from Slipknot’s Corey Taylor on “A Different World”.
As a whole, The Serenity of Suffering represents the stellar trajectory of KORN in its entirety, and gives us a glimpse at what the future holds for the band. Utilizing decades of friendship between the band members, and their artistic bond, the band dug deep into their sonic history to pull through the darkness and overcome the stigma of falling into the repetitive trap of creating the same music over and over with each release. Korn’s formula, while remaining familiar, changes with each release. Using their combined efforts, the band were able to craft their art in new ways to create a modern record that reinvents their iconic sound in a fresh and exciting way.
The lyrical content of The Serentity of Suffering is some of the most personal that Jonathan Davis has written during his career. “Nobody cares. You’re just a bad man. Nobody wants you. You’re dead man,” Davis’ dark side whispers during “Die Yet Another Night”.
“The terror grips me close and holds me tight and hope I get to die yet another night.”
Fear. Loss. Frustration. Hopelessness. All topics that the band has touched on before with their previous releases, but Davis has upped the level of urgency represented in each track.
This is the Korn release that I’ve been waiting for, and one that could only be made on behalf of the persona experiences these 5 men have lived through.

Rating: 10/10


01. Insane
02. Rotting In Vain
03. Black Is The Soul
04. The Hating
05. A Different World
06. Take Me
07. Everything Falls Apart
08. Die Yet Another NIght
09. When Youre Not There
10. Next In Line
11. Please Come For Me
12. Calling Me Too Soon
13. Baby
14. Out Of You






Comments are closed.