Saxon: Inspirations

Silver Lining Music / Militia Guard
Release: 19 March 2021


Track Listing:

  1. Paint It Black
  2. Immigrant Song
  3. Paperback Writer
  4. Evil Woman
  5. Stone Free
  6. Bomber
  7. Speed King
  8. The Rocker
  9. Hold The Line
  10. Problem Child
  11. See My Friends


Saxon has held a special place in my heart for many years. I was just a wee lad in the mid 80’s when I first saw the band on one of MTV’s now defunct programs, but it wasn’t until nearly 30 years later that I finally got to see the British titans live in concert. Finally getting to see both Saxon and Judas Priest on the same night was a show I’ll never forget. Thanks to the Covid19 pandemic, its been a year since most of us went to a concert, so I’ll hang on to my 2015 Saxon memories a bit tighter while I’m listening to Inspirations.
I honestly didn’t know what to expect from Biff and the guys when it was announced they’d be releasing a covers album. Having an already established band cover the songs of other already established bands can get kind of tricky. Saxon music has a very distinct presence, and so do the bands’ they’re covering. What’s impressive about this album is that the covers are more of an homage to each of the band’s that have influenced Saxon during their career.
While “Paint It Black” will always be The Rolling Stones, Saxon put their own twist on the classic cut. Biff dusted off and polished some jewels from The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, AC/DC, and Motorhead and breathed new life into these classic songs. If you doubt Saxon’s love of these classic tracks, give Hold the Line, and Immigrant Song a spin. Those two are my favorites on the album.
The band’s authentic and unique style hasn’t been compromised by time, nor has their sound diminished over the years. While we’re waiting for Saxon’s next full length release of original material, Inspirations is a great way to remind us Saxon haven’t gone anywhere and won’t be forgotten.


Follow Saxon on: