Nine Inch Nails and Angles & Airwaves Drummer Ilan Rubin Releases Album With The New Regime


The New Regime, the brainchild of Ilan Rubin (Nine Inch Nails, Angels & Airwaves), releases their stunning new lyric video for the song “A Sweet Kind Of Suffering” today. Watch the lyric video, created by John David Moffat, HERE.
“‘A Sweet Kind Of Suffering’ has always been one of my favorites off of ‘Heart Mind Body & Soul’. It has a mood like no other song on the album with a great groove and melancholy vibe. It’s about feeling the weight of isolation, eventually flipping perspective, and learning to appreciate it. ‘A Sweet Kind Of Suffering’ becomes a mantra, of sorts,” states The New Regime frontman Ilan Rubin about the release.
Director, John David Moffat adds, “For the “A Sweet Kind Of Suffering” lyric video, the first thing I thought of was the relationship between mind and body; how your brain chemistry can have an effect on the way you feel. For instance, the line, ‘Heaviness deep inside my chest sinking me like a ten-pound stone’, makes me think of mental anxiety causing physical anguish.
Visually, I thought of this idea of creating an expressionistic version of the insides of brain chemistry. With a chorus line like ‘A Sweet Kind Of Suffering” that repeats throughout the song I didn’t want it to be all dark rather create something alive and colorful in the hopes that it would give the viewer something they can zone out to for a few minutes while listening to this haunting song.”
“A Sweet Kind Of Suffering” is off The New Regime’s new full-length album Heart Mind Body & Soul, which was released in full on March 6th. Rubin made the decision to roll out the project in four parts, each with four songs, grouped under each titular topic (“Heart, “Mind”, “Body”, and “Soul”) after accepting that few music fans still take the time to sit down and hear an entire album. The complete 16-track collection was re-sequenced for the full-length release. While the artwork that was created for each part, was compiled into one image by its creator Rob Sheridan, best known for his extensive work with Nine Inch Nails and most recently DC Comic’s High Level. Purchase and stream Heart Mind Body & Soul HERE. The New Regime were out on tour supporting Silversun Pickups in March until COVID-19 brought all touring to a standstill.
Rubin, whose young age defies the amount of work he’s already tackled, was recently called “Nine Inch Nails’ secret weapon” (Metal Injection) and “one of rock’s most in-demand drummers” (Louder). Today, however, it can be argued that the multi-instrumentalist’s best work happens when this one-man-band is fronting-and backing-The New Regime. The band’s previous releases have been featured by massive press outlets such as Billboard, Entertainment Weekly, NME, Alternative Press, and Modern Drummer and have seen them share the stage with Muse, The Killers, Nine Inch Nails, Angels & Airwaves, The Used, Juliette Lewis, Alice In Chains, and more. With the new releases, Rubin is looking forward to continuing to reinvent the wheel and becoming a master of his own regime.
Heart Mind Body & Soul Tracklist
1. A Way To Feel Again
2. Surreal Disaster
3. You Can Be (Whoever You Want To Be)
4. Heart Mind Body & Soul
5. Struggle In My Bones
6. Sweet Kind Of Suffering
7. Do Right By Me
8. Knocking Down Your Door
9. It’s Gonna Be OK
10. Tell Me What You Want
11. Destructive Patterns
12. Turning A Blind Eye
13. I’ll Never Let You Let Me
14. Feel No Pain
15. Smoke & Mirrors
16. She Had Me Wrong
Watch “Heart Mind Body & Soul”:
Watch “It’s Gonna Be OK”:
Watch “A Way To Feel Again”:
Watch “Turning A Blind Eye”:
Follow The New Regime: