Our Friends

The HU Kick Off First-Ever North American Tour with Nine Sold-Out Shows

THE_HU
THE HU
triumphantly kicked off their debut three-month headlining tour across North America with the first of nine sold-out shows last night in Minneapolis, thrilling audiences with their one-of-a-kind style of ‘hunnu rock’–a combination of American heavy rock played with traditional Mongolian instruments and guttural throat singing that is featured on their debut album, THE GEREG, out tomorrow, Friday, September 13 via Eleven Seven Music.

The Mongolian-based rock sensation will continue to make their mark as newly appointed Cultural Envoy of Mongolia representatives as they perform at several of the fall’s biggest music festivals-Riot Fest (Chicago), Aftershock Festival (Sacramento) and Las Rageous (Las Vegas)-alongside sold-out dates in major cities including: Montreal, Quebec City, Washington, D.C., Denver, Los Angeles, Columbus, Indianapolis and San Francisco.
 
THE HU have achieved viral online success with their captivating and cinematic videos for the album’s singles “Wolf Totem,” “Yuve Yuve Yu” and “The Great Chinggis Khaan” which combined have logged over 40 million views to date and were filmed at historic locations in their home country.

Pre-order THE GEREG here: https://thehu.ffm.to/thegereg
theHU

Read some early critical praise for THE HU:
“[The HU] are not just taking elements from Western music… Instead, they’re using some of these elements and making their own authentic music. So it’s not rock music performed by Mongolians. It’s Mongolian rock music.”- January 5, 2019
 
“You know when you find an artist you’re so enraptured and excited about that you want to tell anyone and everyone who’ll listen about them? That’s how I feel right now about The HU.” – June 7, 2019

“Hunnu rock has undoubtedly captured a global audience, spreading their transcultural sound across borders.” – May 27, 2019
 
“The Hu is the first act since Bad Wolves in February 2018 to top Hard Rock Digital Song Sales with its first charting song.” – April 18, 2019

“The HU wound up with nine cinematic songs that seamlessly meld their influences, often highlighting the areas where the two overlap… Given the global platform they earned via YouTube, The HU have an entire nation rooting for them with The Gereg.” – August 5, 2019
9.11.19
For more information on THE HU, visit:
WEBSITE // FACEBOOK // INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // YOUTUBE 

ABOUT THE HU:
Gala: Lead Throat Singer and Morin Khuur
Enkush: Lead Morin Khuur and Throat Singer
Jaya: Jaw Harp, Tsuur, Flute, and Throat Singer
Temka: Tovshuur
THE HU stands for the Mongolian root word for human being, inspiring their original style of music that they call “Hunnu Rock.” The band pull Inspiration from the Hunnu, an ancient Mongolian empire better known as The Huns in western culture. Their music is deeply embedded with their ancient culture, even integrating old Mongolian war cries and poetry into their lyrics. The group was founded in 2016 in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia by their producer Dashka, along with band members Gala, Jaya, Temka, and Enkush. Together they create rock music with traditional Mongolian instrumentation such as the Morin Khuur (horsehead fiddle), Tovshuur (Mongolian guitar), Tumur Khuur (jaw harp), guttural throat singing built around the pillars of heavy rock: distorted guitars, bombastic drums, and aggressive rhythms. All four members have earned Bachelor’s or higher degrees in classical music and have gained several years of touring experience throughout Asia and the Pacific Rim.

Catch THE HU on tour in North America:
 
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Minneapolis, MN
Fine Line Music Café (SOLD OUT)
Friday, September 13, 2019
Milwaukee, WI
The Rave
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Chicago, IL
Riot Fest
Sunday, September 15, 2019
Detroit, MI
El Club
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Cleveland, OH
Grog Shop
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Toronto, ON
The Opera House
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Montreal, QC
L’Astral (SOLD OUT)
Saturday, September 21, 2019
Quebec City, QC
Le D’Auteuil (SOLD OUT)
Monday, September 23, 2019
Boston, MA
Paradise Rock Club
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Brooklyn, NY
Warsaw
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Washington, DC
Black Cat (SOLD OUT)
Friday, September 27, 2019
Asbury Park, NJ
The Stone Pony
Saturday, September 28, 2019
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Soundstage
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Salt Lake City, UT
The Complex – The Grand
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Denver, CO
Oriental Theater (SOLD OUT)
Friday, October 5, 2019
Santa Fe, NM
Armory for the Arts
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Phoenix, AZ
Crescent Ballroom
Thursday, October 10, 2019
San Diego, CA
The Observatory North Park
Friday, October 11, 2019
Joshua Tree, CA
Joshua Tree Music Festival
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Los Angeles, CA
Teragram (SOLD OUT)
Sunday, October 13, 2019
Sacramento, CA
Aftershock
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Portland, OR
Roseland Theater
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Seattle, WA
Paramount Theatre
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Las Vegas, NV
Las Rageous Rock Festival
Monday, October 21, 2019
El Paso, TX
Lowbrow Palace
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
San Antonio, TX
Paper Tiger
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Dallas, TX
Trees
Friday, October 25, 2019
Houston, TX
Warehouse Live
Sunday, October 27, 2019
Austin, TX
Emo’s
Monday, October 28, 2019
Fort Smith, AK
Temple Live
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Lawrence, KS
Granada Theater
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
St Louis, MO
Firebird
Saturday, November 2, 2019
Nashville, TN
Exit/In
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Atlanta, GA
Terminal West
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Orlando, FL
The Social
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Culture Room
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tampa, FL
The Orpheum
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Charlotte, NC
The Underground
Monday, November 11, 2019
Richmond, VA
Broadberry
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Philadelphia, PA
Theatre of Living Arts
Sunday, November 17, 2019
New York, NY
Bowery Ballroom
Monday, November 18, 2019
Pittsburgh, PA
Mr. Small’s Theatre
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Columbus, OH
The Basement (SOLD OUT)
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Cincinnati, OH
Taft Theatre
Friday, November 22, 2019
Louisville, KY
Zanzabar
Saturday, November 23, 2019
Indianapolis, IN
Hi-Fi Indy (SOLD OUT)
Monday, November 25, 2019
Des Moines, IA
Wooly’s
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Omaha, NE
The Waiting Room Lounge
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Colorado Springs, CO
Black Sheep
Sunday, December 1, 2019
San Francisco, CA
Independent (SOLD OUT)
Monday, December 2, 2019
San Jose, CA
The Ritz
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Ventura, CA
The Majestic Ventura Theatre
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Santa Ana, CA
The Observatory OC
Friday, December 6, 2019
Pomona, CA
Glass House
Saturday, December 7, 2019
Las Vegas, NV
Brooklyn Bowl

Comments are closed.