Purity Ring; Another Eternity

Purity Ring
Another Eternity
March 3rd, 2015


After a year of silence, with only a few live performances. Purity Ring are once again blessing the world with their unique sound.  Stillness. Peaceful. Calming a violent storm. As a whole, “Another Eternity” embodies the soothing emotions that each of the album’s 10 tracks invoke in its listener. Simply put, the album is everything a future pop record should be.
The subtle electronic chords of Purity Ring’s sophomore release combine swirling synths, deep rhythmic bass lines, and, coupled with the ethereal vocals of Megan James, take us on a sonic journey through a broad aural landscape. James’ vocals soar the stratosphere and reflect the hope and respect that the band’s fans have for their music.
Each of the album’s ten melodious tracks blends perfectly together to tell an amazing story loss, love, redemption and finding one’s own path through self realization and acceptance of what life has given us. Purity Ring’s music continues to evolve and transition beyond standard genre definitions. Engaging elements of pop are mixed with tones of rock and come together with quiet hints of industrial metal in “Dust Hymm” and “Heart Sigh”, while James’ soft, melodic vocals crash into Roddick’s accomplished heavy dance beats on “Flood On the Floor” and “Repetition”.
“Another Eternity” was crafted with perfection to impress. Each of the album’s tracks are laced with a high quality that guarantees the music stays in your mind long after the final note is played. The emotional intensity that the band has created is in perfect balance.
How about the singer? Listen to his or her vocal quality. Is it a rich tone? Or is it thin? How expressively do they sing the lyrics? How consistent is their vocal quality? They may sound great until they try to get the high notes and go all screechy.
Each track’s melody is strong and tuneful. James has an beautiful vocal tone, and puts real feeling into each of her lyrics. The lyrics are interesting and meaningful with the opportunity to interpret them based on our own experiences. Instrumentally, “Another Eternity” has a rich, full accompaniment that complements the James’ vocal tracks perfectly.
The performance quality is high throughout the entire album, both vocally and instrumentally. One listen and it’s clear that this album wasn’t rushed in the studio.  Overall, the song is distinctive and original, and I think it has strong commercial potential.
“Another Eternity” embodies the beauty and aggression that so few musicians are able to harness throughout their career. This is the album that is sure to place Megan James and Corin Roddick firmly into the forefront of the music industry.


All songs written and composed by Corin Roddick and Megan James.

No. Title Length
1. “heartsigh” 3:19
2. “bodyache” 2:53
3. “push pull” 3:27
4. “repetition” 3:38
5. “stranger than earth” 4:18
6. “begin again” 3:37
7. “dust hymn” 3:30
8. “flood on the floor” 3:14
9. “sea castle” 3:27
10. “stillness in woe” 4:00
Total length: